The Government of Spain Today

Today, the government of Spain is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy which is based on the Spanish Constitution that was approved in 1978. The constitution establishes a three branches government, these are the executive, legislative, and judicial. The head of the government is a king Felipe VI and the position is hereditary. The kingship is hereditary for the sons but if the king has no sons, the daughters can inherit it. Nevertheless, the actual leader of the regime is the president or the prime minister who is also the head of the executive branch of the government. The prime minister is usually chosen by the king and approved by the legislative office of government.


The entire Spain government is divided into seventeen independent communities and two autonomous cities. Every region has a local government but the entire state still holds the overall sovereignty.


The Constitution of Spain


The Spanish constitution was disseminated in 1978. It was conscripted to eliminate dictatorship and make the state a parliamentary monarchy. The constitution is the main source of power to the regions. It also acts as the symbol of democracy in Spain and monarchy must uphold the constitution sovereignty. The constitution appoints t the king as the head of states, but his position is symbolic and is meant to endorse national unity. Also, his position is a sign of devolved power to the autonomous regions.


Roles of The Head of State

The king is the head state and at the same time the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. He is also a symbol of peace and permanence. The king does not play any major role in governing the country but he is the highest representative of the international Spain affairs. The king rectifies laws, moderate and arbitrates running of institutions, dissolves the government and call for elections, proposes, appoints or fires the President of Government to head the Council of Ministers on a president invitation.


Branches of The Government of Spain


Spain has three arms of the government like most of the government in the world. All the three branches, executive, legislative, and judiciary works under stipulations of the constitution. The executive is made up of the President, vice-president, and the Council of Ministers. The main role of the executive is to take care of the local and foreign policies. Besides, it is also answerable to the legislature. Legislature holds up two chambers, these are the Assembly of Deputies and the Senate. The assembly of Senate has 350 members who reprint provinces and autonomous communities. The legislative members can only serve for a 4 years’ term. The main role of the legislature is to approve the prime minister suggested by the monarch.


The judiciary is headed by the General Council that comprises the judges and the lawyers. It is independent of the legislature and executive in completing its functions. The judiciary is made of 3 units for the justice administration. These are the administrative, criminal and labor. The highest court in Spain is the Supreme Court. However, every autonomous region has its high court. This is also the branch of government which provides marriage classes before wedding.


The Electoral Process


In Spain, there are various official governing different posts of the government. The Congress of Deputies members and the Senate are chosen in general elections while the heads of local and regional autonomous governments are designated in different elections. The elections are always open to all citizens 18 years and above. It is also open to the members of the European Union. The elections are held after every 4 years or after legislature’s dissolution by the king.